Perception – a short story

Standing at the corner of the street, I was waiting for a cab to pick me up at 8 in  the morning. As the app reflected waiting time of 15 min , I started looking around to see if anything new was happening in my neighborhood ; which gave a  look of  framed picture since 50’s. Everything occurred in a fixed mechanical motion, as in someone starting the machines at 5 am in morning and let them do their pre – engineered program without any deviation.

While looking around , I saw a GENTLEMEN ( Yes , real one J ) coming towards me wearing a jogging suit with earplugs tugged ON and a sophisticating looking fitness band on wrist . The bright looking shoes and a winner smile reflected it was less than a week since he started his fitness regime..

Decking up in the initial days, craving their paths differently to grab attention wrt getting praised for their health consciousness. Just like fresher’s in first year of college can be spotted from 500 mts based on their shyness, curiosity and enthusiasm, all emotions mixed in one  . This was what instantly came to my mind on getting his first glance!

11954225561444388723johnny_automatic_jogging_boy.svg.hi.pngNo.. No.. No … the story is not about my perception of this health conscious GENTLEMEN ( You will know at end of story , why I am emphasizing on this adjective ) .. Although , I  am guilty of forming  one and making my readers draw a vivid image of this character , but as lawyers say in courtroom “ Statement withdraw “ 🙂  ..

I curiously watched his pace of jogging and as he was crossing the junction, he stopped. I thought maybe he rejoiced , on me staring at him & my mind already started making excuses and throwing out and same time filtering probably reasons to justify my staring.

But, the men turned around towards the other side of road and he took few steps and stopped near a mid-sized sedan. There another man with fairer color wearing loose T- shirt and half pants was cleaning dirt from a car.

In Delhi and probably in most of the metro cities, Cars are parked roadside due to scarcity of space and they gather dust overnight in bulk . So many have found an opportunity to clean up these cars in the morning and charge anywhere between INR 500 -1500 / month depending on size of car and locality .  For working people ,  it saves time in the morning and some take this as an opportunity to earn few bucks during morning shift of probably 5 am – 8 am .

12-WshCr.gif

Now our GENTLEMEN started talking to this fairer guy –

Hey, you are really an expert in your trade. When I went for jogging 1 hour before this car was looking like an abandoned piece of junk covered with dirt and birds shit . And now its shinning as owner has just brought it from garage  .  Grt Job …

Thanks Sir – Other guy responded without looking back to him .

You see , I have  hired and fired 4-5 guys in last 2 months because  no one was dedicated and as efficient as you are. But you look pretty sincere, So I want to hire you for the job .

But sir  ….

No , listen to me .. I have a Alto 800 and a pulsar .. I used to give 300 bugs for cleaning of both vehicles.

But sir , I ..

Ok , Ok .. I will start with 300 with you and if I found you sincere I would increase it to 350 from next month.

It’s not possible for me …

Ok , I understand you are educated and doing such shitty jobs for extra money .. But it’s ok with me , I am a Sr. Manager in MNC and 4-5 of my sub-ordinates leave nearby  …  I will recommend you to them and can help you earn easily 2-3 K per month .. Don’t worry I am not going to ask for referral commission.I am a kind hearted person.

You have to listen to me sir ..

Ohh .. You are still in doubt???   That’s the problem with you guys.. Someone shows sympathy and you try to extract more money.. But remember, I am not going to pay more than INR 350 and if you bargain further, I will inform your current customers too how rude you are ..  I am very popular in this society.

While listening to all this conversion , I was wandering who this “ Mr. POPULAR “ is  ??  I never saw him in 4 years  .. At same time , I got curious to listen as to what other guy was trying to say … and decided to move and intervene in their conversation .. and suddenly

“ FOR GOD SAKE .. LISTEN TO ME FIRST , YOU ****** “ ..

the other guy finally had enough .. I stopped..  Climax has started …

He continued in loud voice looking towards our GENTLEMEN – “  I AM TRYING to say something for last 15 minutes and you don’t even bother to hear me  …  I am not a cleaner , this car is Mine … I am Sr. VP in Aboutme.com ,an Online MNC and have recently shifted to this society  ..  I personally take care of my car because cleaning helps in sketching muscles which is a good workout in morning. Just because for what I am wearing or what I am doing right now , you formed opinion that I am going to listen to you forever for some 2-3 k or whatever .

Gentlemen my advice is , don’t judge people by clothes or color else you might run someday into unavoidable trouble .  And learn to respect others not based on their income or looks but because they are human and they deserve to treated well.

Yes sir , sorry  I understand “ and our gentlemen swiftly tries to escape from the scene trying to avoid eyes which have started circling around him during this conversation .

The men continued cleaning his car and crowd dispersed and I was left with a smile and a noteworthy message to share with everyone ….

Now , you know , why I was calling him a GENTLEMEN  !!!!!!!

images.jpg


Do share if you have noticed any incident of people forming perceptions based on own assumptions .

Leave a Reply

